If you are an out-of-state driver charged with driving drunk, you need
an experienced California DUI defense attorney at Lessem, Newstat &
Tooson, LLP. We focus on DUI defense cases and have a detailed understanding
of the issues relevant to out-of-state drivers. California has some of
the nation's toughest DUI laws, and they apply to out-of-state drivers
as well as in-state motorists. We will defend your legal rights from arraignment
through the resolution of the case. If you are an out-of-state driver
charged with a misdemeanor first offense DUI, you may not even have to
appear in court or return to California.
Contact a knowledgeable California DUI defense lawyer today by calling
(800) 462-7160 or using our
States Share Data About Out-of-State Drivers Charged With DUI
Since you are an out-of-state driver, you may think that your California
DUI arrest won’t affect you back in your home state. But in many
instances, DUI arrests do hit home. If you are an out-of-state driver
and receive a California DUI, the DUI may affect your driving privileges
in the state that issued your driver’s license, as well as in California.
Through an agreement called the Interstate Drivers’ License Compact,
45 states share information about driving-related arrests, including driving
under the influence, driving while intoxicated, license suspensions and
convictions for serious offenses such as drunk driving. The compact was
created to toughen penalties for drunk driving.
License Suspension for Out-of-State Drivers Arrested for DUI
The California police officer that stopped you for drunk driving issued
you a document that revokes your driving privileges in California for
30 days after your arrest. You have 10 days to request a DMV Administrative
Per Se hearing to challenge the suspension of your driving privileges.
But if you don’t act quickly, you lose the right to do that. You
don't have to appear at the DMV hearing in person. A knowledgeable
DUI lawyer at Lessem, Newstat & Tooson, LLP, can appear on your behalf
and work to protect your driving privileges.
If the DMV suspends your driving privileges, California will communicate
that information to your home state and your state may follow suit and
suspend your driver’s license, too. Through a reciprocal agreement,
some states will automatically honor California’s action by suspending
your driver’s license. Your past driving record may determine the
length of the suspension. It varies from state to state.
Criminal DUI Proceeding for Out-of-State Drivers
In addition to the DMV hearing, you also face a legal proceeding in California
court on the charge of driving under the influence. You may be charged
with a misdemeanor DUI or a felony DUI, depending on the specifics of
your case. This criminal proceeding is separate from the DMV administrative
hearing. The initial appearance, called an arraignment, where the charge
is presented, may be scheduled several weeks to several months after your
If you are an out-of-state driver charged with a misdemeanor first offense
DUI, you may not have to appear in court or return to California. If you
waive your right to appear, a DUI lawyer at Lessem, Newstat & Tooson,
LLP, may be able to appear on your behalf and negotiate to resolve your case.
Turn to California Attorneys Who Handle Out-of-State DUI Arrests
If you are an out-of-state driver charged with DUI in California, you don’t
want to leave anything to chance. The consequences are too serious. You
want an experienced, effective California DUI lawyer who is skilled at
negotiating to minimize the consequence of a DUI arrest. You want the
knowledgeable DUI defense attorneys at Lessem, Newstat & Tooson, LLP.
It's important to fight a DUI charge whether you are arrested at home
or are an out-of-state driver. Even if you’re an out-of-state driver
arrested for DUI in California, the DUI charge may hit home.